Fates Design

So yesterday was a funny day. I sat in my bathroom “hiding” for a minute and reading an article in Women’s Day about creating your own luck. The jist was that although there are many instances in life that we can not control ie. plane crash, accidents, natural disaster, etc… there are also many that we do have control over. The theory is that we create our own luck by having a more positive state of mine. If we expect good things, good things will happen. If your always looking for the negative well….your always going to see the negative 🙂 I didn’t realize until the moment I was reading it how much I had always looked for the positive in life and how lately I have seen only negative. NO wonder I can’t seem to find my happy place!  So I concluded that I need to start focusing on the good in life to bring myself my own good luck and then two things happened:

A close friend calls to tell me that his wife’s father had been murdered the night before. How unlucky was he, in the wrong place at the wrong time. Not even necessarily in the wrong place..just some asshole happened along his path.

My husband arrives home to tell me that he was called off to go out-of-town for the day and that it’s a good thing he was because there was a huge pile up en route and several fatalities. How lucky is he? How lucky am I?

So all this leaves me with…is going to bed thinking that fates design is not within our control and we are all just floating along… wherever the wind may take us.  I still can’t shake the feeling when I wake..over the article and the fact that I read it, the death, coincidence, and the helplessness I feel over the shape of my destiny and I decide to get right out to my morning walk.

As my dog and I walk along we decide to take a less used path and come across an unused bike park, it reminds me of a secret glade among the tall weeds, and I look around at the beautiful earth and realize that although yes….some of our fate is left up to chance but a good part of how we interpret it is, do to our own state of minds. Life may throw hardship at us but it is up to us, how we process it.

My dear friends can slide down the hole that is grief or they can move forward anticipating what’s to come, a son who needs nourishment and love, a baby on the way, and wisdom to help those around them when tragedy strikes.

What do you think? Do we decide our destinies or are our lives in fate’s hands?

Samantha

 

1 thought on “Fates Design

  1. We don’t “control” our destinies because life happens and in the end, God is in control. However, you are right that when things do happen attitude makes all the difference in whether you pick yourself up or dig yourself a hole to crawl into. It is a lot easier to go to bed and cover your head, but as long as you remember that life is good, and think of all of your blessings, it is easier to weather the storm.

Leave a comment